News Other News

Honda one make race 2014: Round 5

Honda one make race 2014: Round 5
Written by Parichay Malvankar

Riding on superb performance, Sumit Loucs Toppo (Prolap Racing) clinched the CBR 250R Championship Cup to take home the trophy and a brand new Honda CBR 150R. Closely following with just a 5 point difference was 1st runner-up Sarath Kumar of Ten 10 Racing (Rs. 20,000 + trophy). The 3rd position was won by A. Prabhu of Motorev India (Rs. 10,000 + trophy). This season belonged to Ten 10 racing who won the team’s Championship cup trophy and a CBR 250R.

In the Novice category, Naresh Babu won the CBR 150R Championship cup, followed by R.Rajanikanth and E.Sarvannan as 3rd. CBR 150R Championship Cup Prizes: 1st – Rs. 30,000, 2nd – Rs. 20,000, 3rd – Rs. 10,000.

In Round 5, newcomer Ami Van Poederooijen took a surprise win in the Honda CBR 150 novice category. Vivian Gladwin David came in 2nd with Shoban Bapu getting his first podium of the year to finish in 3rd place. Naresh Babu was crowned Champion even though he finished in a distant 7th place. The Final Round of the 2014 MMSC- FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship got off to a great start with Sarath Kumar winning a 4-way tussle in the Honda CBR 250R open race.

Since its inception in 2008, the Honda One Make Race continues to grow in scale, drawing a total of 319 entries in 2014. Honda leased out 16 CBR 250R bikes to teams registered at FMSCI. Excluding the engine, chassis and tires of CBR 250R and enable permitted performance enhancing modifications to the vehicle. Honda further supported participating teams with Original Spare parts worth Rs. 10,000 and set of tyres replacement per round. These vehicles are modified with imported HRC performance kits.