2nd Edition GT Cup India 2021 announced by Toyota Gazoo Racing

Written by Nizam Shaikh

After the ‘GR Supra Gran Tourismo (GT) Cup 2020’ e-Motorsport contest, Toyota Kirloskar Motors India has now announced the 2nd Edition GT Cup India 2021. The second edition of the TOYOTA GAZOO Racing (TGR) e-Motorsport boasts of being the fastest e-Motorsport race in Asia. The brand also claims that the e-Motorsport is bigger and better than the first. 

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing (TGR) e-Motorsport

Toyota Gazoo Racing has stepped up the e-Motorsport owing to the outstanding response from last year. The brand reveals that the e-Motorsport will reach out to a broader audience this time around. The e-Motorsport will not just be limited to PlayStation 4 participants. User’s of the PC platform will also be able to participate using the “GR Excelerate Tournament” on PC platforms. Since August 2020, during which the e-Motorsports made its debut in India, the brand has been able to connect with motorsports enthusiasts from the entire country. 

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing (TGR) e-Motorsport – Registrations

e-Motorsport aficionados will be able to participate by registering themselves between 2nd August 2021 and 15th August 2021. The race will be held on between 18th August and 5th September 2021. The brand will announce the prizes on 10th September 2021. In addition to this, the registrations for the GT Cup Tournament on the PS4 platform are between 2nd August 2021 and 21- August 2021. The race will be held between 27th August 2021 and 25th September 2021. The brand will announce the prize on 2nd October 2021. 

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing (TGR) e-Motorsport – Prize

The brand has announced that winners of the contest on the PC platform will get a chance to win Playstations. Winners can use these Playstations to compete in the national rounds of the TGR GT Cup. Furthermore, the top three winners will win a prize pool of INR 2 lakhs. Also, the winners get an opportunity to represent India at the Asia Cup and win INR 7 lakh pool prize. 

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing (TGR) e-Motorsport – Format of Play

In the Semi-Finals, the top three qualifiers will compete from India, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Taiwan and Korea. The 21 semi-finalists will compete within their respective groups at the TGR GT Cup ASIA 2021. The racers will compete on the Tokyo Expressway racing circuit with the newly introduced GR Yaris. The top five e-motorsport racers in each group will go straight into the Final Race. And the remaining 11 racers will compete for a Consolation Race at the Fuji Speedway circuit in the GR Supra for the final race. 

Also Read: Toyota Yaris hatchback spotted road testing in India